8am - 6pm
Event Info Click Here

Online Entries are Open
Printable Entry Form
Event Info Click Here

Online Entries Open April 14
Event Info Click Here

Online Entries are Open

Author Topic: 5 yr old having trouble with speed  (Read 2632 times)

Offline brookenmagic

• Extreme Member
5 yr old having trouble with speed
« on: October 28, 2009, 08:41:47 PM »
I have a mare that i competed on in western pleasure and ran for rodeo queen and i have been training her on barrels for the last two yrs she is very soft mouthed and can hardly even stand a large smooth snaffle in her mouth so i ride her in a s-hack and she is really good for me and very responsive and she works the pattern almost perfect at a high lope but everytime i ask for more speed she gives me the speed i want but completely blocks out what i ask her to do she almost always over runs the 1st but drops her shoulder on the 2nd and either overruns or drops on the 3rd i have been asking for more speed since about april and when she does bad i take her back to slow work for a while and focus on rating and giving her a very wide pocket but still every time i ask for speed again she does the same please help i dont know what to do anymore

Offline lauraSchumann

• pay attention you might learn somethin'...
  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero
  • It is what it is...
Re: 5 yr old having trouble with speed
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 10:57:29 AM »
hi...

Its sounds like to me your horse is not making the transfer of understanding the difference between
"lift means turn here"...and "lift means get off my hand and move over"...

Go back and start doing alot of circular work making sure that you keep her ribcage up and loping